Valentine Tea & Some Bonus Stuff

0-0bS

Peppermint tea. Jam and Nutella filled heart cookies. Apple slices. Dried cranberries. A dear friend.

We almost didn’t get to have our Valentine Tea Party due to the week we have had with our favorite canine girl, Nala, (an update on her at the end of the post) but somehow we managed to pull it off today.  Jos also wanted to invite a little friend of hers but in an effort to keep things quieter around here for our doggie girl, we kept our guest list to our dear friend, Julie. Of course, Nala spent the day at the vet but that was not part of the plan.

Julie and I met through our dogs, and her dog, Ozzie, is one of Nala’s best friends.  Julie is such a supportive, caring and fun friend.  I am very fortunate to have her in my life, as are my girls.  Jos adores her and was so excited when she saw who our surprise tea party guest was.  She said, “I was so happy my best friend, Julie, was here.”  Julie is one of those people who is not afraid to roll around on the floor with the munchkins and there is always silliness and laughter involved.  Not only is she a great friend and awesome with kiddos but she is also a talented photographer and artist. In fact, her work is on display for the entire month of February at Gallery One, for all you locals.  You will see her photographic work, including some of her amazing collages and her fused glass lamps and mirrors, which are gorgeous AND made from recycled materials!  Really awesome stuff! Go check it out!

0-1aS

0-3cS

0-4bS

0-2aS

0-6aS

Now for a Nala update…

0-9bS

It appears Nala has an abscess on the tumor she has, which was likely contributing to all the inflammation.  This is positive news because it means the tumor is likely not nearly as big as we had thought.  An ultrasound showed her liver and spleen to be good.  An x-ray revealed a couple of spots on her lungs that the doc was unsure of so he is sending those off to get more info.  He also took a biopsy of her tumor and we should know more about that early next week.  Nala’s abdomen, where the tumor is, looked sooo much better today and she has been quite perky and more like herself.  I know we still need answers but after the week of worry we have had and the conclusions our minds had jumped to, we are incredibly happy with a little positive news today. Hooray!

In an effort to keep it real though…  Not everything around here is cutesy and heart shaped.  Another amazing friend, Katy, stopped by after the tea party to lend some support from the week we have had worrying about Nala.  I asked her to hang with the girls (Addi was asleep) while I picked Nala up from the vet and of course, she agreed, as that’s the kind of friend she is. Awesome.

When I returned, Addi was awake and sucking her thumb. She had been a bit alarmed to not find Momma there when she awoke. Bummer. I had hoped she would stay asleep. I swear she can sense when I leave!  Of course, Katy was a pro. She changed her diaper and was walking around with her to comfort her.  She was fine and then she heard my voice and once again the tears came.  Anyway, I immediately got her and it took her a bit to calm down.  Then Nala proceeds to vomit, just a little, and as I am getting something to clean it up, Addi spits up all over me.  Got that cleaned up and was enjoying a few minutes of chat time with Katy when the next disaster strikes. Jos was in the bathroom getting a tissue as she has a slight cold. Well, she likes to flush her tissues despite us telling her to throw them in the trash. I heard the toilet flash once, twice, and the toilet lid go up and down a few times so I told her to wash her hands.  Of course, she is playing in the water while she is washing her hands but I chalk this up to “sensory play” as like I said, I am actually enjoying a few minutes of chat time with my friend.  Next thing Jos says is, “I need help” so I go in there to find she had put the ENTIRE box of tissues in the toilet and tried to flush it. Oh yes, the toilet was overflowing  ALOT!  So, I rush around with a baby in my arms finding towels while Katy dries the floor. HOLY MOLY!  This was all in like a 10 minute timespan too.

Welcome to the jungle, Katy.  Next time, I hope your visit is a tad more peaceful. That is, if you decide to return. 😉

This entry was posted in Dogs, Family, Kiddos, Photography. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

