Addison Kay | Birth Story

0-15bS

It’s amazing that almost a week has passed since this precious girl joined our family.  This time last Sunday, I was out for a walk with a friend and hoping that my walking would encourage this babe to come meet us.  In fact, I had been walking all weekend, eating spicy food and balsamic vinegar (read somewhere that works ;)) and keeping my fingers crossed this little peanut would be born before her due date (August 27)  since my doctor was going out of town on that day!  Well, it seems the stars were aligned and shortly after my 2nd brisk walk on Sunday (at around 2:30pm), I started having contractions.

The contractions were mild and relatively painless but definitely contractions.  They were also inconsistent…10 minutes part, then 7 minutes, then 9 minutes.  I went about my day, made dinner, cleaned a few things around the house, etc…  I had mentioned to Justin that I was having contractions and he wondered if we should go ahead and call his parents to come over and be with Joslyn.  I told him I didn’t think it was necessary just yet.  I think I didn’t want to get my hopes up and go to the hospital only to be sent home so I was trying not to make a big deal out of it.  Well, the contractions started getting closer…5 minutes then 4 minutes, but still mild and not too bad on the pain scale.  At around 7:30, I finally decided that maybe we should go in and get checked out at the hospital.  In the meantime, Justin had already called his parents who were driving 2 hours to get here.  So, I called my friend, Julie, who came to be with Joslyn until the grandparents arrived.  Julie was walking her dog so it took her 30 minutes to get here which gave us time to get all of our stuff ready to go, tell Joslyn bye and explain what was happening.  Let me just tell you, Joslyn was bouncing off the walls with excitement.  I have never seen her soooo wired, and I have seen her wired, but this was beyond anything I have seen from our big girl.

We arrived at the hospital between 8:30 and 9:00pm.  The nurse monitored me for a bit and confirmed my contractions were 4 minutes apart but I was just 3 cm. dilated, which was pretty much where I had been at my last doctor’s appointment the Thursday before.  I was a bit discouraged by this.  The nurse talked to the doctor who said to go ahead and admit me and we would see what happened overnight.  While the nurses were getting our room ready they sent us to walk around the hospital for an hour to see if contractions would pick up or stop.  They definitely picked up!!  My contractions were still about 4 minutes apart but to the point now where I had to physically stop and breathe through them.  An RN who was in the hallway saw me and said, “Honey, I think you are ready.”  Little did she know, she would be seeing me again very soon to assist in getting an iv in my arm.

We arrived back at Labor & Delivery at about 10:15pm, went to our room, and then the nurse checked me again.  I was now 4cm. dilated.  The contractions were about 2-3 minutes apart at this point but I was still able to breathe through them although I needed to lean on Justin a lot more now.  He was applying pressure to my back, as it was really starting to feel the contractions.  I could only stand and lean over the bed as no other position helped.  The nurses struggled to get my iv in and had to go through 3 nurses before they got it.  The last nurse (the one from the hallway), rather than being tidy and risk losing the vein, was quite messy in her work.  Blood was spilling out all down my arm, which didn’t bother me but poor Justin was a bit freaked out and thinking that I would probably need some of that blood for delivery. 😉 The nurse said they don’t call the doctor until 5-6 cm. dilated.  At this point, I started voicing to Justin that this could take a while and I that I just wanted the epidural.  I won’t mention my exact words though. 😉  Even though I wanted to do this without the drugs, I was ok with getting the epidural at this point.  So, we told the nurse who went to call the anesthesiologist so that he could come in.  He was about 30 minutes away.  My contractions were about 2 minutes apart now.

Within that time, my contractions got a whole lot more intense.  I went from breathing through them to struggling to be able to do that.  This is when I got a lot more vocal. 🙂  The nurse came in, probably after hearing me, and checked me again.  To everyone’s surprise, I was now at 8cm. dilated…just like that!  It felt like it happened from one contraction to the next!  It was now about 12:30am.  So, the nurse left promptly to call the doctor, who luckily lives close by.  At this point, there was still no epidural in place and I had concluded this wasn’t going to happen for me as my contractions were too close together and there was NO WAY I was going to be able to sit still for a needle in my back!

As we waited for the doctor, the nurses started prepping for delivery.  They continued to tell me to breathe, not to push (which I was good at since I was a tad terrified to push) and that the doctor would be walking in any minute.  However, they were putting on gloves and preparing to deliver this baby themselves, if need be.  Soon after, the doctor arrived, immediately put gloves on and it was go time!  Right after she got there, the anesthesiologist came in and said, “Am I too late, is she delivering?”.  Ummm, yea.  A little late. 🙂  After pushing through about 3-4 contractions, our little peanut entered the world at 1:00am.  I immediately wanted to know, boy or girl?  The doctor said that Dad would cut the cord and then I would see rather than announcing it herself, which was pretty cool.  So, when they lifted her to my chest is when I saw we had another precious baby girl.  It was the most amazing and wonderful experience to find out this way and to hold our 2nd baby girl for the first time.

Addison truly completes our little family.  We love her so much and that love continues to grow with each passing day.  It is just amazing how my heart instantly feels fuller every time I look at her. So happy she is finally here with us!

0-32bS

0-19cS

0-21a1S

Speaking of a full heart, these last two images make me feel like my heart might just explode!  So lucky to have both these precious munchkins and I am glad they have each other.

This entry was posted in Family, Kiddos, Photography, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Addison Kay | Birth Story

  1. She is so beautiful and just like her big sister she will a joy like no other. Remember I had 3 girls and there daddy said I acted like each one of them was the only baby around. Each one holds a place in our hearts that nothing on this earth can replace, Enjoy those girls and enjoy each and every day because one day you will look back and say where did it go. You are a great mom and there will be days when you think you might pull you hair out but remember your love for them will always be the same. You know you can call me any time you want. I love you Amber just like you were one of my own.

  2. Khyra says:

    Ahhhh!

    I was nicknamed “Peanut” before I was born – everyone was afraid I’d be this little baby since my mom wasn’t showing much – many of the clothes bought for me were way too small as i was 9# 2oz on August 26th!

    Congrats to our pals!

    Khyra’s Mom (and Khyra too!)

Leave a Reply

