Homemade Pop Tarts

poptartss

I will reluctantly admit that I do like to indulge in pop tarts every now and then, but it’s so rare that I actually buy them that it is unsatisfying.  There’s this horrible guilt I feel when purchasing them because of the long list of not so healthy ingredients, and sometimes I even pick up the box, look at it longingly, only to put it back on the shelf.  It’s a vicious cycle!  No need to worry about that anymore…enter the homemade pop tart!

I was going through  my “catch all” basket on my kitchen counter which is where various recipes I want to try get deposited.  Well, sometimes they sit there for literally months before I get to them or put them away as they are not in season anymore.  As I was cleaning out my basket two nights ago I came across one for homemade pop tarts that came from a Rachael Ray magazine, I think.  So, I decided to try it out and it was successful.

Here’s what you do…

Line a baking sheet with foil and spray with cooking spray.  Take pre-made or homemade pie crust and roll it out.  Cut into 2×3 in. squares.  Brush the edges with 1 beaten egg.  Place 1 teaspoon (I’ll use more next time and maybe make them a bit bigger) jam or Nutella in the center and then top with another half.  Use a fork to press and tightly seal the edges. Poke holes in top of each pastry. Bake for 12-15 minutes at 400 degrees and cool on wire rack.  Drizzle with icing (1 cup confectioners’ sugar and 3-4 teaspoons milk mixed until smooth) Enjoy!

So easy and yummy AND I feel much better about eating these, not to mention giving them to my darling girl!

This entry was posted in Family, Food, Kiddos. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Homemade Pop Tarts

  1. mica says:

    YUMMM!!! Pop tart guilt is the worst!

Leave a Reply

