A Valentine to Remember

9cs

Happy Valentine’s Day!

While this Valentine’s Day has certainly been one to remember….chocolates, flowers, yummy food, a loving hubby, sweet baby kisses, there is another that is on my mind.  The photo above is from our table this evening but the heart vase goes back to my junior year in high school.  Yes, I’ve held on to it for well over a decade! 😉  I tend to do that with things I find to have sentimental value, perhaps a little too much, but I’m so glad I have kept this one and was able to use it this Valentine’s Day.

For me, it was a day like most others.  I didn’t have a boyfriend so I didn’t expect much out of this day of love even though I’m sure I secretly hoped one particular person I liked would think of me that day.  I’m sitting in class and I get called to the office which has happened to a number of people throughout the day to pick up various Valentine’s gifts, mostly flowers.  I think I must have known I was getting flowers because I remember wondering who in the world had sent them to me as I walked toward the office with that nervous and excited feeling in my stomach.  When I arrived there was this cute little heart vase with a rose, maybe 2, but I don’t remember.  I proceeded to read the card and quickly learned it was from my Mom.  🙂  Yes, I was a bit disappointed at the time and perhaps a wee bit embarrassed although I still thought it was very sweet.  Looking back, there’s NO other person in the world I’d rather have received flowers from.  Getting those flowers from my Mom was better than a dozen roses from any boy!  So, today when I looked at this little heart vase on our table it reminded me of that day and the sweet gesture my Mom had made to tell me she loved me.  I miss her so very much, but I am so thankful for the mother she was and for the wonderful memories she made for me to always keep in my heart.  I love you Mom!

This entry was posted in Family, Photography. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Valentine to Remember

  1. alison rice says:

    sniff sniff, lovely story. Hang on to every memory Amber. Your mom will live in you always.

  2. pauline pishner says:

    so sweet Amber…

    On Fri, Feb 15, 2013 at 1:09 AM, Yeager Family

Leave a Reply

