Rodeo Ready

This little cowgirl was decked out in her pink cowgirl boots today for the Jr. Rodeo Parade.  She and I ventured downtown to watch (next year we may have to walk in the parade) and we had a great time.  We parked the stroller and Jos got out and walked up and down the sidewalks and even had a seat on the curb for a bit.  Of course, the pink boots were a hit with all the cowboys and cowgirls! Thanks to our friends, Kim & Ella, for these beautiful boots that were a gift before this babe was even born.  They said that since she lived in a rodeo town then she needed a pair of boots, and I agree!  I’m thinking this Momma may need some cowgirl boots herself. 🙂

Jos enjoyed waving to people in the parade and she even met a Pioneer Dude who sat down beside her on the curb and complimented her boots. 😉  One lady said she already had the Rodeo Queen wave down which made me giggle as I can’t even imagine that since we don’t even have a horse or any other farm critters.  I do think it should be a pre-requisite that the Rodeo Queen should be familiar with and able to ride horses, don’t you agree?  Perhaps Joslyn will have better luck convincing her Dad to buy her a horse than I did with mine.  Hehehe!  I remember writing my Dad many letters outlining everything I would do to take care of a horse if he would buy one for me but all of those letters were unsuccessful…something about him ending up being the one to take care of it.  I guess we’ll never know Dad. 😉

I suppose that even if Joslyn doesn’t have a horse we can always do riding lessons.  That would be fun for me too…hopefully she’ll think so too so her Momma can live vicariously through her.

At any rate, it sure was fun seeing her in her pink cowgirl boots today…simply adorable!

Before the parade, we went to the farmer’s Market to pick up a few things, one of which was kale.  I have been wanting to make kale chips so while Jos was napping I did and they turned out great.

It couldn’t have been easier…just remove the ribs, tear into pieces, place on baking sheet, toss with olive oil, a little pepper, and a little sea salt, and then bake for 20-22 minutes at 275 degrees.  I actually put a little too much salt which is interesting as I usually don’t add enough so next time I’ll cut back on that, but otherwise they were quite yummy.

Joslyn really liked them!

This entry was posted in Dogs, Family, Kiddos. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Rodeo Ready

  1. alison rice says:

    so cute, sarah went through three pair of pink cowboy boots in her day. We still have two pair.

  2. mary lou says:

    I am rodeo ready, I have my boots but not pink, which are way cooler.

Leave a Reply

