Birthday Tea Party

Finally, here are some of the photos from Joslyn’s birthday tea party celebration with our Mom’s group.  Everyone was instructed to dress fancy and to meet at the Yeager Tea Room. 😉 Everyone looked quite beautiful and handsome (we had one little guy in attendance and he was quite dashing in his khaki shorts and button down shirt).

I managed to snap a very quick photo of the table but I didn’t think about that until a bit later.  In hindsight, I think I should have unfolded the tablecloth and let it hang as that would have been prettier but I was worried that may be more inviting for tiny hands to pull at, and I didn’t want anything to break especially since I borrowed some things from friends. Oh well, it was a good learning experience for future tea parties! Also, notice the lace panel over the tablecloth…I scored that at Goodwill for $2! I also had a doily which was used on another table that my grandma Pauline made…a little lace definitely made it feel more tea party-esque.

Miss J’s birthday banner I made…we’ll use this next year too and probably for however many years it lasts unless I decide to make a fabric one at some point. 🙂

I found two cute teacups and plates at an antique store and I used them to put homemade chocolate peanut butter truffles in.

The cups and plates for the guests were borrowed from my friend, and they were also used for the baby shower she hosted for me. 🙂  They worked perfectly for our tea party!

I made birthday hats, but of course didn’t remember to have anyone wear them!  I didn’t think the babes would keep them on anyway, but I thought we might manage to get them to wear them for a quick photo.  I guess I will have them for next year!  I made them from, get this, old notebook dividers I had with my scrapbooking paper supply.  I loved the designs/colors and the paper was nice and thick.

Also, we had a photo booth set up with fun props.  Luckily, I was able to get a few photos of the guests before they left but I missed one of our friends and her daughter as they had already left. 😦 At the second party, I learned to grab everyone as they came in the door and have them take a photo first before heading on into the party.  That would have been a good time to get the kiddos in the birthday hats too…chalk that up to another party planning lesson learned!

Joslyn’s monthly owl photos I have been taking were on display for guests to see as well along with some other pics of our sweet pea.

The party favors for our little guests were homemade doggie crayons.  Yes, not tea party related at all, but we can’t be perfect all the time. 😉  Plus, I figured these would be fun and even though the youngest kiddos may not be ready for them quite yet I feel that crayon time is close.

And now onto the food…here are those truffles I mentioned earlier.  Wish I had one right now…super rich and creamy. YUM!  I can’t find the recipe online right now or I’d share the link.  If I find it then I’ll share another time. 🙂

Strawberry Scones

Click HERE for the recipe.  I made mine into triangles while the recipe did circles like biscuits but everything else was the same.  Mine may have cooked a minute or two longer…not sure, I always just check and then add a minute or two if I think they need it.

They were even better with lemon curd!  Although I have attempted to make lemon curd before this was store-bought as I ran out of time and energy.  Still yummy!

Our tea sandwiches were Smashed Chickpea and Avocado…delish!   This is one of my favorites!  Click HERE for the recipe.

I also made these Pine Nut cookies and shaped the pine nuts into tiny J’s. They are a Giada De Laurentiis recipe…love her recipes!  They are so easy too and you can make the dough ahead of time, freeze it, then slice and bake.  Click HERE for the recipe.  Also, notice the lovely tiered platter….it was made by my lovely sister-in-law!  She’s quite talented!

In addition to all the above goodies, we had fresh strawberries, blueberries, and peaches.  The beverages included Mango Green Tea, Cucumber Water, and coffee.

The kiddos enjoyed playing in the water table outside during the party.

And a couple of photo booth shots…here is Miss Ellie sporting her grandmother’s purse and her Momma, Charlene.  We had the honor of having Ellie’s grandma as a guest too since she was visiting and it was very nice to have her join us and get to meet her.

And here’s me and my smiley girl!

Thanks to our friends for making our tea party extra special and memorable.  I can’t wait for the next tea party!

This entry was posted in Family, Garden, Kiddos. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Birthday Tea Party

  1. mary lou says:

    Quite the party for her first. Just think what you must plan for her future ones. Wonderful pics for wonderful memories.

  2. Sandra Ross says:

    so beautiful Amber you did a great job. Do not know how you had the time. Love you.

Leave a Reply

