Birthday Bashes!

Well, we made it through the first birthday party!  Technically, parties, as we had two gatherings.  The first was a tea party with some very special Mommas and their babes and the second one was a BBQ with family and a few other friends.  They both went very well and Miss Joslyn was a rock star at the BBQ bash which surprised me since there were quite a few people there.  She was a happy camper the entire time!  Of course, I had to make her an owl cake, my very first birthday cake, since she has had her monthly photos with her owl since birth.  Also, she really loves her stuffed owl now and will sign owl and make a “hoo hoo” sound.  When I brought the cake out and everybody started singing she didn’t quite know what was going on.  She kept looking around at everyone and I think she was close to crying but made it through and was happy when she saw the owl cake.  It was so funny to see her expression and I imagine she was wondering what in the world were all these people doing staring at her and singing!  Too funny…I could watch the video of that over and over (and probably will). 😉 The eating of the owl cake wasn’t her thing though…she very tentatively checked it out and finally had a few bites of frosting but mostly just patted it. 🙂  My favorite part though was seeing her sweet face light up when she realized it was an owl and she kept saying “hoo hoo”!  What a sweetheart! That just melted this Momma’s heart.  She also tried to feed me a few bites of frosting so my face got a bit messy too. 😉

We had two different kinds of cupcakes for the party guests….Lemon Lavender and Vanilla with Lemon Curd.  YUM!  Let’s just say this house turned into a regular bakery this week between scones for the tea party and cakes/cupcakes for the BBQ bash! I’ve never used so much butter in my life!  Paula Deen would be so proud. I have to give a HUGE thanks to my mother-in-law, father-in-law, and sister-in-law who were a huge help in getting everything prepped and ready for our Saturday party!  My father-in-law, Joslyn’s Grampi, even frosted the cupcakes!

Someone certainly thought the photo booth props were pretty funny too!

We have a very special visitor this week, one who we are very excited to spend time with, so I’ll post more party pics later in the week or over the weekend!  Lots more fun photo booth ones to come!

Thanks to everyone who was a part of our baby’s very special first birthday celebrations!  For those who couldn’t be there, thanks so much for still taking part in the time capsule activity!  For my family, you will get your time capsule instructions in a couple of months after you meet Miss Joslyn…can’t wait for that!!

This entry was posted in Family, Kiddos. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Birthday Bashes!

  1. You are a very clever Momma, I am proud of the way you do things.You do it up right. Love to all of you.

  2. Shannon says:

    You are creative!! Looks super cute!! Can’t wait to see more photos!

Leave a Reply

