Zucchini & Bottles

Excuse me while I take a moment to brag a bit.  That’s right, these babies came from MY garden!  The reason I am so excited is that I have NEVER had success with zucchini for some reason.  I am now thinking that before maybe I overwatered them because with the new baby and all there have been a few days where they have gone without a drink. 🙂 Although Justin pointed out that perhaps it was due to his consistent watering…hmmm, I’m not so sure as I used to water most everyday.  Granted, I didn’t soak them everyday but they did always get a little drink and maybe it was too much.  In our dry and windy climate watering is a must but maybe not so much for squash.  Any zucchini growers want to weigh in on this?  😉

Anyway, it is amazing how far two zucchini will go.  The above dinner was made with half of one…we grilled them along with some onions from the garden.  On a sidenote (not zucchini related), the chicken was grilled too and then I added some feta and kalamata olives.  I have to thank Alison, my sister-in-law, and Katrina, my friend, for getting me hooked on kalamata olives. Justin has always been a huge olive fan but not me.  Well, after Joslyn was born, Alison and her daughter Sarah came over and made us some puttanesca for dinner with these olives, and I LOVED it! Then, a bunch of amazing women, including my friend Katrina, brought us dinner while we adjusted to having a new baby which was SO helpful.  Well, Katrina brought over a couscous with, you guessed it, kalamata olives.  Again, I couldn’t get enough of them.  So, thanks ladies for creating a new food addiction for me. 😉  Back to the zucchini….we have sautéed, grilled, and I made two loaves of zucchini bread last night, and I still have a half of the big zucchini left.  Perhaps I will make two more loaves today and freeze them.  Ok, my zucchini growing brag session is officially over.  Now onto more important things…

While Joslyn has not been a fan of the bottle, Justin has had some small success in getting her to take it.  One day, she took an ounce and then a half an ounce on another day.  This may not sound like a lot, but it felt like a HUGE success to us.  We’ll keep plugging away at it, and hopefully one day if I need to go somewhere the bottle and Dad can stand in.  I just love how she is looking up at Justin with those big eyes.

Of course, a post wouldn’t be complete without a photo of just my baby girl.  I ordered this dress for her before she was born.  It’s a 0-3 months size, and I thought that maybe she could wear it home from the hospital. HA!  My little 6 pounder was far from fitting into this when she entered the world, but now she fits in it quite nicely at almost 10 lbs.!

 

This entry was posted in Family, Garden, Kiddos. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Zucchini & Bottles

  1. Jessica says:

    OMG! That last picture is priceless!!!!

    Also: I want to be able to grow things…but I’ve yet to have any success. If I ever grew anything in a garden like your zucchinis…then I probably had nothing to do with it.

  2. cute picture in her dress.

Leave a Reply

